The City of Surigao (Filipino Pronunciation: soo-ree-gâhw) ( Filipino: Lungsod ng Surigao; Surigaonon: Siyudad nan Surigao) located at the northeasternmost tip of Mindanao Island in the Philippines and the capital of the province of Surigao del Norte, Philippines. It has a total land area of 245.34 km2 which is roughly 1.4% of Caraga Region. According to the 2007 census, 132,151 people live in the city. With an annual growth rate of 1.52%, it is the most densely populated urban area in the entire Caraga Region with 540 persons per square kilometer. Surigao is the oldest town in Mindanao, founded by Spanish colonizers in 1655 who named it Distrito de Caraga. It was a vital port town for transport of goods to neighboring islands in the archipelago. Today, Surigao is one of the most important seaports in Mindanao after Davao and Cagayan de Oro for gross registered tonnage handled. It is ranked consistently by the Asian Institute of Management as one of the most competitive cities in the Philippines with a total income of approx PP440 million pesos in 2009. 

The city has abundant mineral reserves including gold, iron, manganese, silica, cobalt, copper, chromite and among the world's largest nickel deposits in Nonoc Island. The surrounding waters and coastal areas provides sanctuary to numerous species of fish and aquatic life. Its warm weather and proximity to the Pacific Ocean permits various activities around its numerous islands, beaches, caves, mangrove forests and coral reefs. The city's location makes it an ideal jumpoff point to tourists visiting nearby adventure islands of Siargao, Dinagat and Bucas Grande. It is also Mindanao's closest landmass to the Visayas region, separated 10 nautical miles by Surigao Strait and a 40 minute ferry ride to Panaon Island. Surigao is the center of politics, commerce, industry and education for the entire province as well as parts of neighboring provinces of Surigao del Sur, Agusan del Norte, Bohol and Southern Leyte. 

For more information, visit